Our #DXIFF partners play an instrumental role in the  success in of the  festival & symposium year after year, and 2023 is no different. Thank you for locking arms in this celebration of investigative storytelling. This year’s partners include:

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Fund for Investigative Journalism, Video Consortium, Docs in Progress, D-Word, International Women’s Media Foundation, Global Investigative Journalism Network, Investigative Reporting Workshop at American University, International Documentary Association, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism, Documentary Producers Alliance, DCEFF Environmental Film Festival, SIMA, Women in Film & Video Washington DC, Southern Documentary Fund, Asian Documentary Network, Documentary Organization of Canada, ICIJ, Media Impact Funders, SVA NYC, Rory Peck Trust, and IRE.


Times to socialize! Breakfasts, lunches & happy hour!

View our full schedule



Please join us in thanking all of the #DXIFF23 volunteers! Many come to us as students, recent grads, post-grads, aspiring documentary filmmakers, photographers, journalists, editors, artists, social media gurus, writers, and podcast hosts. When you see one wearing a DXIFF volunteer tee shirt – working tirelessly to help make the festival a success – please let them know they are appreciated. They are standing by to field any questions related to #DXIFF23. From A to X, maybe you’ll see one of these names featured at a future DX Fest:


Aletheia Couts, Amanda Dowd, Ananya Gondesi, Anaya Thomas, Andrew Powers, Anisa Pugh, Annie Xiao, Bonnie Rowan, Brian Micsky, Campbell Cook, Carrie Mcguinness, Colin Wagner, Courtney Kushnir, Danaeya Witherspoon, Daria Nastasia, David Soltz, Deepti Pradhan, Diamoni Patterson, DuWayne Portis, Dylan Ebs, Ella Mitchell, Elle Green, Giovanni Osorio, Heena Kausar, Izzy Wagener, Jamaica Kalika, Jelena Wells, Jerel Tait, Jhanae Hardy, Jina Zhao, Jordyn Rattler, Journey-Ade king, Kadin Smith, Kayla Skeete, Kendi McMilller, Kennedy Donnie, Kennedy Simpkins, Khali Terry, Kiara Hines, Kiara Taylor, Kristen-Lill Umegbolu, Leonardo Elie, Madison Fowlkes, Makenna Underwood, Mary Rose Hendricks, Matilda Mubiru, Myla Roundy, Nicholas Aguirre Zafiro, Nyle Paul, Olivia DiPalermo, Oliver Ni, Patty Nieberg, Peter chamoun, Ryan DeRosa, Samiya Amrani, Stephen Baranowski, Sydney Lewis, Teresa Varadan, Thea Belle Flanzer, Trae Mitchell, Tyler Giles, Vanessa Benonis, Xhep Xhep


World Premiere: The Price Of Truth, Director’s Cut

The extraordinary story of a man who risks everything to preserve freedom of speech in Russia. In December 2021, Dmitry Muratov is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. He is the editor-in-chief of Russia’s only independent newspaper, Novaya Gazeta. Six of his journalists have been murdered after their reports displeased the state. In February 2022, Russia invades Ukraine. In early March, Muratov secretly negotiates free passage for forty journalists with the Latvian government. Then he returns to Moscow to look after his paper and its remaining staff. To this day, he refuses to leave Moscow, whatever the pressure on him and his team. “Putin stands for death,” Muratov says. “I stand for life.”

With a pre-recorded message to the festival from Muratov, and audience talkback with director Patrick Forbes, moderated by David Herszenhorn of The Washington Post.

Get your pass!